Ducane Heat Pump Reviews

Ducane is known as a builders grade brand for HVAC equipment so you will not got all the bells and whistles you would with one of the bigger name brands such as Lennox or Trane. Ducane by the way is owned by Lennox but Ducane has its niche producing heat pumps and other HVAC products that does not have the bells and whistles. Ducane heat pump come in efficiency ranges from 13 SEER 7.5 HSPF to 15 SEER 8.2 HSPF. Ducane heat pump feature the following in selected models:

  • All Ducane heat pumps are factory run tested
  • Discharge muffler for quiet operation – this feature is industry standard
  • Solid-state defrost controls
  • low pressure switch to protect the compressor in the event of loss of charge or other problem that causes low pressures
  • Selected Ducane heat pumps come with coil guards
  • Diagnostics control board for easier heat pump troubleshooting
  • Short cycle protection

Ducane was found in 1947 in Union City, New Jersey and was eventually purchased by Lennox. Ducane produces HVAC products for residential and light commercial applications including gas furnaces, oil furnaces, unit heaters, heat pumps, and air conditioners.

High Performance HVAC

Ducane Heat Pump Reviews

Published by

Richard

Master HVAC, Master Electrician, and Master Gas Fitter who likes to helps others learn.

5 thoughts on “Ducane Heat Pump Reviews”

  1. Reviewed by Admin Transfer September 05, 2011
    don’t buy

    Reviewed by monique December 09, 2009
    don’t buy

    I’ve owned mine 3 weeks and it has been nothing but trouble. 20 minutes of cold air for the “defrosting phase” followed by 40 minutes of heat. Does that sound efficient?

  2. Reviewed by Admin Transfer September 05, 2011
    Dissatisfied with Ducane Heat Pump

    Reviewed by Mike Huffman December 11, 2009
    Dissatisfied with Ducane Heat Pump

    I have a Ducane heat pump which is now 4 years old. I’ve had to have the freon filled two times and now the unit keeps freezing up. My service man has been out over 7 times trying to find the problem. Ducane will not return my phone calls. I’m basically heating with the heat strips now. It’s costing me a fortune. Don’t waste your time and money with a Ducane heat pump. You’ll only be sorry.

  3. Reviewed by Admin Transfer September 05, 2011
    Don’t bother!

    Reviewed by Joseph June 22, 2010
    Don’t bother!

    Don’t bother! My home was built in 2005 and the heat pump/air has broken 5 or 6 times now…poor quality parts, poor reliability.

  4. Reviewed by Admin Transfer September 05, 2011
    Ducane is poor

    Reviewed by Howard July 07, 2010
    Ducane not recommended

    I bought my home new and the builder had Ducane heat pumps installed. I’ve only been in the house for 2 years, however, the manufacture dates for the pumps is 2005. These systems have been nothing but trouble since moving in. I have a 4-ton upstairs and 5-ton downstairs and both have failed to consistently heat and cool the home. Part of the problem may have been the installation by the builder, beleive he used systems that were too large, however, the systems are out of warranty and my 5-ton now ha a shot compressor among other things. Every repair person who has come to my home states the Ducane systems are junk and builders should not be allowed to use them due to all the problems.

  5. Reviewed by Admin Transfer September 05, 2011
    your product stinks

    Reviewed by DEBBIE SMITHEY January 13, 2011
    Last updated: January 13, 2011
    your product stinks

    YOUR PRODUCT STINKS…EVERY YEAR IN THE WINTER THE HEAT PUMP GOES OUT…YOU MIGHT HAVE GOT MY MONEY THE FIRST TIME …YOU NEVER WILL AGAIN. YOU KNOW THE PRODUCT STINKS WITH SO MANY BAD REVIEWS ON THE NET…YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED
    Editors Note: High Performance HVAC does not produce Ducane Products as someone may surmise from reading Debbies Comment about Ducane.

Leave a Reply